GOVERNMENT OF KERALA

Abstract

ESTABLISHMENT - Constitution of Industrial Tribunals and Labour Courts.

LABOUR AND LOCAL ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT (LABOUR-3)

G.O.(MS) 306

dated, Trivandrum 28-03-1958.

Read:- 1. G.P.LI-675/57/DD. dated 15-1-1957.

2. G.P.LI-675/57/L&LAD. dated 30-3-1957.

ORDER

There are at present three Industrial Tribunals, one each at Trivandrum, Alleppey and Ernakulam constituted under the Industrial Disputes Act ,1947. Three Industrial Tribunals and three Labour Courts were constituted under the Industrial Disputes (Amendment and Misc. provisions) Act 1956 of which two Industrial Tribunals, one at Quilon and the other at Kozhikode were abolished. Thus at present four Industrial Tribunals and three Labour Courts exist in the following places:-

Industrial Tribunal Trivandrum.

-do- Alleppey.

-do- No.1, Ernakulam.

-do- No.11. Ernakulam.

Labour Court Quilon.

-do- Ernakulam.

-do- Kozhikode.

2. Sri.K.Purushothaman Nair, Industrial Tribunal, Trivandum, Sri.Shahul Hameed, Industrial Tribunal, Alleppey and Sri.V.U.Joseph, Industrial Tribunal No.II Ernakulam who were appointed as Industrial Tribunals under the Industrial Disputes Act 1947 have now become qualified for appointment

2

Under the Industrial Disputes Amendment and Misc. Provisions Act 1956.

Government are pleased to appoint them as Industrial Tribunals under the above Act.

These Tribunals will be in the scale of Rs.500-800. Necessary Notification in this

regard will be issued immediately. The appointments will take effect only from the

date which will, be specified in the Notification.

3. The Labour Courts at Ernakulam and Kozhikode will be abolished with effect

from 1st April 1958. Sri.N.Raghavan and Shri.K.M.Iype, Presiding Officers of

Labour Courts at Ernakulam and Kozhikode will be reverted to the Judicial

Department with effect from 1st April, 1958. Shri.N.Raghavan, Presiding Officer,

Labour Court, Ernakulam is also granted privilege leave for one month from the date

of avail, subject to eligibility.

4. The jurisdictions of the remaining Industrial Tribunals and Labour Courts will

be as follows:-

Industrial Tribunal, Trivandrum

: Trivandrum and Quilon Districts.

Industrial Tribunal, Alleppey

: Alleppey and Kottayam Districts.

Industrial Tribunal, Ernakulam

: Trichur District.

The office of the Industrial Tribunal No.II Ernakulam with 1st staff will be shifted to

Kozhikode and the jurisdiction will be over the District of Palghat, Cannanore and

Kozhikode.

5. All the records of the Labour Court, Kozhikode and Ernakulam will be

transferred to the Labour Court, Quilon. The Presiding Officers of the Labour Court

Kozhikode and Ernakulam will forward to Government immediately, drafts of

statutory Notifications to be issued for the transfer of the pending

... 3

cases with them to the Labour Court, Quilon. The head quarters of Labour Court, Quilon will be at Quilon and the Presiding Officer will dispose of the cases by arranging camp courts, if found necessary. The members of the staff in the two Labour courts have lein in the Labour Department will be reverted to the Labour Department. The Labour Commissioner will also explore the possibility of absorbing the other members of the staff is detailed below and report to Government immediately.

The Industrial Tribunal, Trivandrum, the Industrial Tribunal, Alleppey and the Industrial Tribunal No.II, Ernakulam are requested to forward immediately drafts of Statutory Notification for the transfer the pending cases with them.

Details of the staff in the Labour Courts.

Stenographer on Rs.45-150. Two posts.

L.D.Typist on Rs.40-120. Two posts.

L.D.Clerks on Rs.40-120. Two posts.

Copyists on Rs. 30-60. One post.

Peons on Rs.25-35. Four Posts.

(BY ORDER OF THE GOVERNOR)

Sd/- K.Raghavan,

Assistant Secretary.

GOVERNMENT OF KERALA

Labour & Local Administration Department (Labour)

L9-11127/58/L&LAD.

Trivandrum, 11.4.1958.

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the Powers conferred by Section 7A of the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947 (XXV of 1947), the Government of Kerala hereby constitute three Industrial Tribunals at the places mentioned in column (2) of the schedule appended and appoint the persons mentioned in column (2) there of as the Presiding Officers of the respective Tribunals, without prejudice to their appointments made under notification L8-17031/55/DD dated 8-2-1956.

SCHEDULE

(1) (2)

Name of Place. Name of Presiding Officer.

Trivandrum. Sri.K.Purushothaman Nair.

Alleppey. Sri.K.Shahul Hameed.

Kozhikode. Sri.V.U.Joseph.

(BY ORDER OF THE GOVERNOR)

Sd/- P.I.Jacob,

Secretary to Government.